Louisiana Online Divorce
Your Divorce Handled Your Way ™
Our simple online process makes getting divorced quick, easy and affordable and without the hassle of hiring a lawyer or going to court. We understand that going through a divorce can be a difficult and emotionally taxing experience, which is why we offer a simple and convenient way to take care of everything online.
If you are looking for a reliable online divorce service in Louisiana, look no further than ReliableDivorce. We have been helping people get divorced since 2007.
Guaranteed approval by Louisiana courts
100% Money Back Guarantee
Lowest price on the market at $99
No hidden fees
Receive your divorce papers today
Unlimited ability to make revisions
Created by divorce lawyers
Legal professional is available to answer any questions
Why Choose ReliableDivorce?
Because you don't like paying more for the same product.
You can pay other online divorce services up to $299 to receive the same completed divorce papers that you would receive from ReliableDivorce.com for just $99. Plus, our $99 price includes the option to schedule a phone conference with the legal professional assigned to your case (your Case Manager) to walk you through each step of the process and answer any questions you may have.
Because you want accurate divorce papers with a proven track record of acceptance by the court.
Since ReliableDivorce.com was created by divorce attorneys and is operated by divorce attorneys, you receive the same divorce papers that divorce lawyers file with the court every day, but without having to spend thousands of dollars on attorney's fees.
Because you want a single, upfront price and not be hit with hidden fees later down the road.
Many other services start hitting you up for additional fees shortly after you sign up (and after already paying their initial fee). These additional fees often include "storage fees" to maintain your information or monthly charges just so you may continue to access your own documents. However, we will never ask you to pay any additional fees. With ReliableDivorce.com, you will always have unlimited access to your account so that, at any time, you may make changes to your information and generate new documents regardless of how long ago you signed up for our service.
Getting an Online Divorce in Louisiana
Our online divorce service is designed for spouses who want a simple, cheap and fast divorce in Louisiana. The key factor to determine whether an online divorce will work for your situation is that both spouses can agree to the terms of the divorce, including the division of property, division of debts and any child-related issues, if applicable.
ReliableDivorce.com makes the online divorce process easy and affordable for virtually every budget. Based on your answers to our questionnaire, we determine all the necessary documents you will need and the documents are prepared as required for the court’s approval. We provide you step-by-step written instructions beginning with how to file your divorce papers and all the way through how to finalize your divorce.
We have spent more than 15 years helping people file for and complete their divorce. Unlike many other online divorce services, our services don’t end once you file your initial divorce papers. We also want to make sure you are easily able to finalize your divorce as quickly as Louisiana law allows. We understand that even with step-by-step instructions to guide you through the divorce process, it can still be overwhelming. That’s why our service continues even after you have your completed divorce papers in hand. Included with our service is the option to schedule a phone consultation with your case manager who can answer any questions you may have or even walk you through each step of the process if necessary.
The bottom line is that if you and your spouse can agree on the terms of your divorce, then an online divorce is the fastest, easiest and least expensive option to dissolve your marriage. Whether you have children, own a home or own other property, as long as you and your spouse can reach an agreement on all such issues, then you are eligible to use our online divorce services to file your divorce in Louisiana.
Click the Start Now button to begin the process today.
Uncontested Divorce vs. Contested Divorce
An uncontested divorce is one in which both spouses have reached an agreement on all the major issues, such as property division, division of debt, child custody, child support, and spouse support.
A contested divorce in one in which the spouses cannot reach an agreement on the major issues and, as a result, the court will have to decide the final outcome on the disputed issues.
In either type of divorce, the process starts by one spouse filing for divorce.
Benefits to an Uncontested Divorce
Save Money. Spouses save a significant amount of money in an uncontested divorce vs. a contested divorce. Instead of paying the high attorney’s fees that accompany a contested divorce, that money stays in the parties’ pockets.
Save Time. Because the spouses have already reached an agreement on the important issues, the paperwork is stream-lined and the parties don’t have to spend time attending multiple court hearings and formal negations that can take many months or even years to complete.
Save Mental Health. Fighting your divorce out in court adds additional stress to an already difficult situation. An uncontested divorce results in a much easier and less stressful legal process.
We created our Louisiana online divorce service to maximize these benefits. ReliableDivorce.com provides the lowest price online divorce service in the market with the fastest results. You receive your divorce papers immediately after completing our online questionnaire so you can file your divorce today or any other day you choose.
Grounds for Divorce
Louisiana grounds for divorce in a non-covenant marriage include both “no-fault” and fault-based grounds.
If there are no minor children (under 18 years old) born from the marriage, the spouses must have lived separate and apart for at least 180 consecutive days.
If there are minor children born from the marriage, the spouses must have lived separate and apart for at least 365 consecutive days.
Felony conviction resulting in a sentence of death or imprisonment with hard labor.
[Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 103].
How to File for Divorce in Louisiana Without a Lawyer
In Louisiana, at least one of the spouses must have lived in the state of Louisiana for a minimum of 365 days prior to filing. Since only one spouse needs to meet this residency requirement, you may file for divorce in Louisiana even if your spouse resides in another state. [Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 10].
In Louisiana, a divorce action may be filed in the parish where either spouse currently resides or where the spouses last lived together. Louisiana does not set a minimum in-parish residency requirement before a party may file in that particular parish.
Detailed court-filing instructions are included with your completed divorce papers, so that you know how the process works.
It may be necessary to follow up if any issues in your documents arise after you file your initial paperwork. We offer you the flexibility to make small adjustments to your divorce forms at no additional cost when you use our online divorce service. Our online divorce service is designed to make your divorce as easy and stress-free as possible.
Our online divorce service makes it easy to file for divorce without a lawyer. There is no requirement that you have a lawyer to file for divorce in Louisiana. In fact, in most Louisiana courts, more than one half of all divorces filed are completed without the involvement of a lawyer. Once you sign up to use our online divorce service, you simply fill out our online questionnaire to begin your divorce paperwork. It can either be filled out on your own or with your spouse's help. We provide you with all the paperwork needed to file and complete your divorce along with detailed instructions for every step of the process.
The first step of the process is to ensure you meet the state's residency requirements to file for divorce in Louisiana.
Child support is set based on the state-mandated guidelines. Using a Louisiana child support calculator is best for determining the amount of child support to be paid. The child support calculator uses the child support guidelines prescribed by Louisiana law. In the event that you and your spouse cannot agree on this issue, the court will use the same calculation as the basis for determining the support obligation. Our online divorce service provides you the child support calculator during your questionnaire.
Child support obligation in Louisiana usually ends when the child turns 18, but it may extend until the child turns 19 if he or she is still a full-time student in high school.
Child Custody and Visitation
Legal Custody in Louisiana
There are two types of legal custody in Louisiana: Joint Custody and Sole Custody. This determines how decisions are made regarding the raising of the child.
Legal custody is determined based exclusively on what is in the child's best interest.
Joint Custody is where both parents have the right to participate in making the major decisions affecting the child.
Sole Custody is where only one parent has the right to make decisions affecting the child.
In Louisiana, it is presumed that joint custody is appropriate unless proven otherwise.
Physical Custody in Louisiana
Physical custody says who the children will primarily reside with and the other parent will have visitation as discussed below.
In Louisiana, the non-custodial parent has the same visitation rights regardless of whether sole custody or joint custody is ordered in the divorce decree.
Under Louisiana law, visitation is any schedule agreed upon by both parents and can change any time both parents are in agreement. Basically, the parents are in control of visitation provided they both agree to it. It is only if the parents cannot agree that the state’s standard visitation schedule applies. Though many parents find it easier to just go by the standard visitation schedule provided under Louisiana law. This will be explained in more detail in your divorce papers.
Louisiana Divorce Forms
Our Louisiana forms are guaranteed to be approved by the court. Our software determines what forms are needed and how to correctly complete the forms based on the answers you provide when completing our online questionnaire. Our software is updated anytime there is a change in the Louisiana divorce laws. Our service makes getting an online divorce as seamless as possible and at a price that meets every budget.
Louisiana Divorce - FAQ
How long will my divorce take?
Short Answer: Varies greatly - between two weeks up to more than one year.
Detailed Answer: Under Louisiana law, spouses must live separate and apart for at least the preceding 180 if they have no minor children together and at least 365 days if they do have minor children together. If spouses have already lived separate and apart for the requisite period of time before filing for divorce, then there is no additional waiting period and the divorce may be finalized within a couple weeks of filing the initial paperwork. The actual time it takes will also depend on how quickly you and your spouse complete and file all the necessary paperwork and the judge's schedule.
What documents are needed to file for divorce in Louisiana?
Short Answer: 1) Petition for Divorce and 2) Verification.
Detailed Answer: Additional documents are needed if spouses have minor children together. Our online divorce service will provide you all of the forms needed for the entire divorce process along with detailed instructions for every step. If you have any questions along the way, you may also schedule a call with one of our legal professionals who will walk you through the process.
How soon can I get remarried after my divorce is final?
Short Answer: Immediately.
Detailed Answer: Louisiana law does not have a mandatory waiting period between finalizing a divorce and when a party may marry another person.
Can I file for divorce in Louisiana if my spouse lives in another state?
Short Answer: Yes.
Detailed Answer: If your spouse lives outside of Louisiana, then as long as you satisfy the state's residency requirement, you may file in Louisiana.
How long do I need to live in Louisiana before I can file for divorce in the state?
Short Answer: Usually one (1) year.
Detailed Answer: Louisiana Residency Requirement: At least one spouse must be a resident of Louisiana for one (1) year prior to filing for divorce. If you have lived in the state for less than one (1) year, but your spouse has lived in Louisiana for one (1) year, then you may still file for divorce since residency requirement would be met based on your spouse's residency.
Why ReliableDivorce stands above other divorce services:
Divorce Attorney Created Documents & Instructions: Our online divorce service, including all our divorce forms, instructions and questionnaires were created and are continuously operated by divorce attorneys.
Instant Divorce Documents: Your documents are completed in real time so you can file your papers today.
Dedicated Case Manager: Access to the legal professional assigned to your case who can walk you through every step of the process.
Court-Approved Forms: All our divorce forms are court-approved and guaranteed to be accepted by the court.
100% Money Back Guarantee: We guarantee our forms will be accepted by the court or we will refund 100% of your fee to use our service.
Unlimited Revisions: You can make unlimited revisions to your documents without any time restrictions. Even after your divorce is final, you can log into your account, modify your parenting plan and generate a new parenting plan without any additional cost.
Best Value: At $99, we have the lowest price complete online divorce service on the market.
Step-by-Step Instructions: We provide you detailed instructions for every step of the divorce process. If you are unsure or simply anxious about a step, you may schedule a call with your case manager who will walk you through any part of the process and answer any questions you may have.
Louisiana Parishes Served
East Baton Rouge
Saint John the Baptist
West Baton Rouge