New Jersey Online Divorce
Your Divorce Handled Your Way ™
Our simple online process makes getting divorced quick, easy and affordable and without the hassle of hiring a lawyer or going to court. We understand that going through a divorce can be a difficult and emotionally taxing experience, which is why we offer a simple and convenient way to take care of everything online.
If you are looking for a reliable online divorce service in New Jersey, look no further than ReliableDivorce. We have been helping people get divorced since 2007.
Guaranteed approval by New Jersey courts
100% Money Back Guarantee
Lowest price on the market at $99
No hidden fees
Receive your divorce papers today
Unlimited ability to make revisions and generate new documents
Created by divorce lawyers
Legal professional is available to answer any questions
Why Choose ReliableDivorce?
Because you don't like paying more for the same product.
You can pay other online divorce services up to $299 to receive the same completed divorce papers that you would receive from ReliableDivorce.com for just $99. Plus, our $99 price includes the option to schedule a phone conference with the legal professional assigned to your case (your Case Manager) to walk you through each step of the process and answer any questions you may have.
Because you want accurate, up to date divorce papers with a proven track record of acceptance by the court.
Since ReliableDivorce.com was created by divorce attorneys and is operated by divorce attorneys, you receive the same divorce papers that divorce lawyers file with the court every day, but without having to spend thousands of dollars on attorney's fees.
Because you want a single, upfront price and not be hit with hidden fees later down the road.
Many other services start hitting you up for additional fees shortly after you sign up (and after already paying their initial fee). These additional fees often include "storage fees" to maintain your information or monthly charges just so you may continue to access your own documents. However, we will never ask you to pay any additional fees. With ReliableDivorce.com, you will always have unlimited access to your account so that, at any time, you may make changes to your information and generate new documents regardless of how long ago you signed up for our service.
Getting an Online Divorce in New Jersey
Our online divorce service is designed for spouses who want a simple, fast and cheap divorce in New Jersey. The key factor to determine whether an online divorce will work for your situation is that both spouses can agree to the terms of the divorce, including the division of property, division of debts and any child-related issues, if applicable.
ReliableDivorce.com makes the online divorce process easy and affordable for virtually every budget. Based on your answers to our questionnaire, we determine all the necessary documents you will need and the documents are prepared as required for the court’s approval. We provide you step-by-step written instructions beginning with how to file your divorce papers and all the way through how to finalize your divorce.
We have spent more than 15 years helping people file for and complete their divorce. Unlike many other online divorce services, our services don’t end once you file your initial divorce papers. We also want to make sure you are easily able to finalize your divorce as quickly as New Jersey law allows. We understand that even with step-by-step instructions to guide you through the divorce process, it can still be overwhelming. That’s why our service continues to provide you support even after you have your completed divorce papers in hand. Included with our service is the option to schedule a phone consultation with your case manager who can answer any questions you may have or even walk you through each step of the process if necessary.
The bottom line is that if you and your spouse can agree on the terms of your divorce, then an online divorce is the fastest, easiest and least expensive option to dissolve your marriage. Whether you have children, own a home or own other property, as long as you and your spouse can reach an agreement on all such issues, then you are eligible to use our online divorce services to file your divorce in New Jersey.
Click the Start Now button to begin the process today.
Uncontested Divorce in New Jersey
An uncontested divorce is one in which both spouses have reached an agreement on all the major issues, such as property division, division of debt, child custody, child support, and spouse support.
A contested divorce in one in which the spouses cannot reach an agreement on the major issues and, as a result, the court will have to decide the final outcome on the disputed issues.
In either type of divorce, the process starts by one spouse filing for divorce.
Benefits to an Uncontested Divorce
Save Money. Spouses save a significant amount of money in an uncontested divorce vs. a contested divorce. Instead of paying the high attorney’s fees that accompany a contested divorce, that money stays in the parties’ pockets.
Save Time. Because the spouses have already reached an agreement on the important issues, the paperwork is stream-lined and the parties don’t have to spend time attending multiple court hearings and formal negations that can take many months or even years to complete.
Save Mental Health. Fighting your divorce out in court adds additional stress to an already difficult situation. An uncontested divorce results in a much easier and less stressful legal process.
We created our New Jersey online divorce service to maximize these benefits. ReliableDivorce.com provides the lowest price online divorce service in the market with the fastest results. You receive your divorce papers immediately after completing our online questionnaire so you can file your divorce today or any other day you choose.
How to File for Divorce Without a Lawyer
New Jersey Residency Requirements:
At least one spouse must have resided in New Jersey for 365 days prior to filing for divorce.
[New Jersey Rev. Statute §§ 2A: 34-8, 34-9, 34-10].
Divorce papers should be filed in:
1) the county where the filing spouse lived when the spouses separated, or
2) if the filing spouse does not live in New Jersey, then in the county where the other spouse lives.
Detailed court-filing instructions are included with your completed divorce papers, so that you know how the process works.
Our online divorce service makes it easy to file for divorce without a lawyer. There is no requirement that you have a lawyer to file for divorce in New Jersey. In fact, in many New Jersey counties, more than half of all divorces are filed and completed without any lawyer involvement. Once you sign up to use our online divorce service, you simply fill out our online questionnaire to begin your divorce paperwork. It can either be filled out on your own or with your spouse's help. We provide you with all the paperwork needed to file and complete your divorce along with detailed instructions for every step of the process.
The first step of the process is to ensure you meet the state's residency requirements to file for divorce in New Jersey.
Grounds for Divorce
In New Jersey, there are two no-fault grounds and seven fault-based grounds for divorce.
No fault grounds:
Irreconcilable Differences. This occurs when there is discord or conflict between the spouses that causes a breakdown of the marriage relationship and there is no reasonable expectation of reconciliation.
Separation. Spouses must live separate and apart for 18 months to use this ground.
Imprisonment. This ground requires a spouse to be incarcerated for at least 18 consecutive months.
Abandonment. A spouse must abandon the other spouse for at least one year.
Addiction to drugs or alcohol.
Deviant sexual conduct. This may be used when a spouse performs a deviant sexual act on the other spouse without consent.
Confinement in a mental institution for at least two consecutive years.
Child support is set based on the state-mandated guidelines. Using a New Jersey child support calculator is best for determining the amount of child support to be paid. The child support calculator uses the child support guidelines prescribed by New Jersey law. [New Jersey Rev. Statute § 2A:17-56.67]. In the event that you and your spouse cannot agree on this issue, the court will use the same calculation as the basis for determining the support obligation. Our online divorce service provides you the guidelines and a child support calculator during your questionnaire.
Child support obligation in New Jersey generally ends when the child turns 19 years old unless the child is attending high school or college, in which case it can be extended up to age 23. [New Jersey Rev. Statute § 2A:17-2A:34-23].
Child Custody and Visitation
Legal Custody in New Jersey
Legal custody refers to who makes or participates in the major decisions regarding the raising of the child.
Legal custody is determined based on what is in the child's best interest.
[New Jersey Rev. Statute § 9: 2-4].
Joint Legal Custody is where both parents have the right to participate in making the major decisions affecting the child.
Sole Legal Custody is where only one parent has the right to make decisions affecting the child.
In New Jersey, it is presumed that joint legal custody is in the child's best interest unless proved otherwise in court.
Physical Custody in New Jersey
Physical custody says who the children will primarily reside with and the other parent will have visitation as discussed below.
In New Jersey, the non-custodial parent generally has the same visitation rights regardless of whether sole custody or joint custody is ordered in the divorce decree. There are exceptions to this general rule of course, such as when there is a history of domestic violence.
Visitation can be any schedule agreed upon by both parents and can be changed at any time provided both parents are in agreement. Basically, the parents are in control of visitation provided they both agree to it and it is in the best interest of the child. If the parents cannot reach an agreement on visitation then the court will require the parents to follow a specific schedule that is determined by the court. The state provides guidelines on visitation and many parents find it easier to just go by the standard guideline visitation schedule. This will be explained in more detail in your divorce papers.
New Jersey Divorce Forms
Our New Jersey divorce forms are guaranteed to be approved by the court. Our software determines what forms are needed and how to correctly complete the forms based on the answers you provide when completing our online questionnaire. Our software is updated anytime there is a change in the New Jersey divorce laws. Our service makes getting an online divorce as seamless as possible and at a price that meets every budget.
New Jersey Divorce - FAQ
How long will my divorce take?
Short Answer: Can be as little as a couple of weeks.
Detailed Answer: New Jersey does not have a mandatory waiting period before a divorce may be finalized. The actual time it takes will depend on how quickly you and your spouse complete and file all the necessary paperwork and the judge's schedule.
What documents are needed to file for divorce in New Jersey?
Short Answer: 1) Complaint for Divorce, 2) Summons, 3) Family Case Information Sheet, 4) Confidential Litigant Information Sheet, 5) Certification Regarding Redaction of Personal Identifiers, and 6) Certification of Self-Represented Litigant and Dispute Resolution Alternatives.
Detailed Answer: Additional documents are needed if spouses have minor children together. Our online divorce service will provide you all of the forms needed for the entire divorce process along with detailed instructions for every step. If you have any questions along the way, you may also schedule a call with one of our legal professionals who will walk you through the process.
How soon can I get remarried after my divorce is final?
Short Answer: Immediately.
Detailed Answer: New Jersey does not have a mandatory waiting period between finalizing a divorce and when a party may marry another person.
Can I file for divorce in New Jersey if my spouse lives in another state?
Short Answer: Yes.
Detailed Answer: If your spouse lives outside of New Jersey, then as long as you satisfy the state's residency requirement, you may file in the state.
How long do I need to live in New Jersey before I can file for divorce in the state?
Short Answer: 45 days.
Detailed Answer: New Jersey Residency Requirement: At least one spouse must be a resident of New Jersey for 365 days prior to filing for divorce. If you have not lived in the state for at least 365 days, but your spouse has, you may still file for divorce in New Jersey based on your spouse's residency.
Why ReliableDivorce stands above other divorce services:
Divorce Attorney Created Documents & Instructions: Our online divorce service, including all our divorce forms, instructions and questionnaires were created and are continuously operated by divorce attorneys.
Instant Divorce Documents: Your documents are completed in real time so you can file your papers today.
Dedicated Case Manager: Access to the legal professional assigned to your case who can walk you through every step of the process.
Court-Approved Forms: All our divorce forms are court-approved and guaranteed to be accepted by the court.
100% Money Back Guarantee: We guarantee our forms will be accepted by the court or we will refund 100% of your fee to use our service.
Unlimited Revisions: You can make unlimited revisions to your documents without any time restrictions. Even after your divorce is final, you can log into your account, modify your parenting plan and generate a new parenting plan without any additional cost.
Best Value: At $99, we have the lowest price complete online divorce service on the market.
Step-by-Step Instructions: We provide you detailed instructions for every step of the divorce process. If you are unsure or simply anxious about a step, you may schedule a call with your case manager who will walk you through any part of the process and answer any questions you may have.
New Jersey Counties Served